Author Archives: Dylan F. Pyne

ECC Monthly Meeting – May 6, 2019

The Edgemont Community Council will be holding its May 2019 meeting tomorrow, Monday, May 6th at 8PM in the Edgemont Junior Senior High School Faculty Lounge.

The agenda can be found on our website.

As always, ECC meetings are open to the public.

ECC Monthly Meeting – April 1, 2019

The Edgemont Community Council will be holding its April 2019 meeting tomorrow, Monday, April 1st at 8PM in the Edgemont Junior Senior High School Faculty Lounge.

The agenda can be found on our website.

As always, ECC meetings are open to the public.

SBNC Announces Endorsed Nominees for School Board

On March 19, the School Board Nominating Committee endorsed Judy Seiff, Alec Clarke and Nilesh Jain to fill the three impending vacancies on the Board of Education. The SBNC had the good fortune of having four very strong nominees this year. Although Stephen Older was not nominated, the Committee was very impressed with Stephen during the evaluation process and hopes that he will seek nomination to the Board of Education in the future.

A diverse group of hard-working individuals sat on the SBNC. They served with extreme thoughtfulness and dedication throughout the nomination and recommendation process. I would like to thank the SBNC committee for their efforts (names below).

I would also like to thank all of the nominees for their willingness to participate and abide by the SBNC process as well as their willingness to commit themselves to serve on the Board of Education.

Members of the SBNC for the 2018-19 School Year are as follows:
Central Park Avenue Association: Eileen Westler and Joshua Berlin
Cotswold Association: Victor Gialleonardo and Ann DeVries
Edgemont Community Council: Diane Gipstein, Henie Simon and Adriana Andrade (alternate)
Edgemont High School G.O.: Ariella Zagorsky
Fort Hill Association: Jennifer DeMarrias
Greenridge Association: Shula Darviche, Dana Leff Niedzielska and Sabina Haq (alternate)
Longview Association: Robin Luband, David Roy and Joan Zolot (alternate)
Northern Greenville Association : Dylan F. Pyne
Old Edgemont Association: Sharyn Lewis, David Stern and Jennifer Frain (alternate)
Southern Greenville Association: Mrinal Jahnghani and Hilary Greenburg

The Committee will host its annual Candidates’ Forum on Wednesday May 1, 2019 at 8pm in the Greenville school cafeteria. We hope to see the community then.

Thank you and regards,
Andrea K. Weiss
School Board Nominating Committee Chair (

Save The Date: Edgemont Community Council Annual Meeting – 4/10/19

The Edgemont Community Council, Inc. cordially invites you to attend its Annual Meeting on Wednesday, April 10, 2019 at 8 PM in the Greenville School Cafeteria, Glendale Road, Scarsdale, NY. We will begin our 72nd year of service to the Edgemont community. On the agenda for the April 10th meeting is the President’s Report; the Treasurer’s Annual Report; the election of Officers and Directors of the Council for 2019-2020; the presentation of the Silver Bowl award for service to our community; and a Guest Speaker.

This year the ECC will bestow its Silver Bowl award for distinguished community service on Old Army Road resident David M.C. Stern. Between 2010 and 2016, David was a member of the Edgemont School Board and from 2015-2016, he served as school board president.

This year’s guest speaker is Lohud’s Tax Watch reporter and columnist David McKay Wilson. Mr. Wilson has written the Tax Watch column since 2012. The post caps a career at The Journal News that began in 1986, covering City Hall in White Plains. His assignments have included City Hall in New Rochelle and Yonkers, county government in Westchester and Putnam, transportation, politics, the State House, and education. Wilson’s columns have focused on public policy issues involving the state’s broken property tax system, affordable housing, corruption in volunteer fire departments, the future of Westchester County Airport, and Edgemont’s possible incorporation. Wilson has also led community conversations on a variety of subjects, including school budgets, affordable housing, taxation of state law, and efforts locally to mitigate the loss of the state and local tax reduction school budget. Fearless and feared by some, Mr. Wilson has lived in Mahopac for the past 19 years, but his world remains in Westchester

Lastly, at the annual meeting you will have the opportunity to pay this year’s 2018-2019 annual dues, if you have not already done so, as well as pay your 2019-2020 annual dues for next year. However, to beat the registration line you may also pay online ahead of time.

If you have NOT paid your dues for this year you can pay your family’s dues of $30 for July 1, 2018 — June 30, 2019 by clicking the button below. If you are unsure of your membership status respond to this email and we’d be happy to check our records. Your membership must be current to vote at the upcoming Annual Meeting. If you have already paid this year then your additional contribution will further support the ECC.

To pay your family’s dues of $30 for the July 1, 2019 — June 30, 2020 fiscal year click the button below.

(Click logos to be brought to the online payment form)

Thank you for your support. We hope to see you on April 10th!

The Edgemont Community Council
Board of Directors

ECC Nominating Committee Announces 2019-2020 Slate

The ECC Board of Directors at its March meeting approved the slate presented by Nominating Committee Chairman Dylan F. Pyne. Also on the committee this year was former ECC Treasurer Greg Adams, former ECC Secretary Pamela Montgomery, Director Eliana Weissman and Colin McCarthy. Below is the slate to be voted on at the ECC Annual Meeting on Wednesday, April 10th.

Officers and Directors

President: Robert Bernstein
First Vice President: Richard Gipstein
Second Vice President: Andrea Weiss
Treasurer: Jeremy Feffer
Secretary: Colin McCarthy

Directors – 3-Year Term Ending June 30, 2022
Jeremy Feffer, Vic Gialleonardo, Richard Gipstein, Colin McCarthy and George Nuhko

Directors – 2-Year Term Ending June 30, 2021
Tamim Nazif, Ocean Mills and Kejia Wang

Central Park Avenue ECC Director (Term Ending June 30, 2020) – Eileen Westler

Northern Greenville ECC Director (Term Ending June 30, 2020) – Alan Fishman

School Board Nominating Committee
Chair – Andrea Weiss
1 Year – Diane Gipstein
1 Year – Henie Simon
Alternate – Adriana Andrade

Additionally the committee thanked Lisa Decker, Jennifer DeMarrais, Dylan F. Pyne and Haibiao Qin, who will be completing their terms on the ECC Board of Directors this year, for their years of service to the community.