Representative Mondaire Jones Meet and Greet: Sat 3/19, 2:00-3:00PM

As a result of the redistricting, Edgemont now resides in NY-17 district, which is represented by Mondaire Jones. Congressman Jones is coming to town on Sat(3/19) from 2-3 to attend a Meet and Greet so he can get to know some his new constituents. If you’d like to attend, please contact Dana via email( or phone(203-570-0331) for details.

ECC Community Service Day: Sat June 4th

Do you know that almost 700 million people in the world – 1 in every 11 people – are categorized as hungry? And that 2 billion people don’t have regular access to the nutritious food they need to live healthy lives?

The Edgemont Community Council is partnering with Rise Against Hunger, an international humanitarian organization, to provide food and life-changing aid to the world’s most vulnerable.

Please join us for the inaugural ECC Community Service Day in the EHS gym on June 4 for a fun, educational family activity (great for children as young as 4) as we work together as a community to package 10,000 meals for those in need.

To support this activity, we’re requesting a donation of $50/person or $100/family.  Click here and then on Donate and Register to sign up for a shift or on Donate if you can’t make it but would still like to contribute. 

SBNC Announces Endorsed Candidates

At its meeting on March 10, the Edgemont School Board Nominating Committee (SBNC) nominated Nareen Jabbour, Nilesh Jain, and Grace Lin for election to the Edgemont school board. Jain will be running for re-election, while Jabbour and Lin will be running for the first time. Current school board members Alec Clarke and Judy Seiff will be stepping down after serving two complete terms on the board.

The committee is grateful to all the candidates for their participation in the SBNC process and their willingness to commit to serving the Edgemont community through membership on the school board. The SBNC will sponsor an open forum to introduce the candidates to the community. (Further details to
be announced.)

The nominating committee has been meeting regularly since last fall, attending school board meetings, and gathering input from the current school board, the school administration, and the community. The process is designed to (1) Encourage qualified residents to make themselves available to serve; (2) Establish a fair and judicious means for evaluating and recommending candidates for the School Board; and (3) Make campaigning less necessary or less likely by ensuring a fair and open process for their nomination.

The nominating committee consists of residents from each of the civic associations within the Edgemont community as well as a student representative from Edgemont High School. The 2021-’22 SBNC membership is as follows:
 Central Park Avenue Association: John Gerraughty, Sharon Peng & Ilir Tota (alternate)
 Cotswold Association: Kristelle Curry & Elizabeth Osborn
 Edgemont Community Council: Matthew Jaffe, Lauren Lappen & Nancy Paley (alternate)
 Edgemont High School: Ariel Novominski
 Fort Hill Association: Mythily Gurumurthy, Roz Tomas & Phil Yuhn (alternate)
 Greenridge Association: Elaine Lu & Ben Tanen
 Longview Association: Rachel Fissell, Shari Kaplan & Sabina Singh (alternate)
 Northern Greenville Association: Jennifer Rosin, Gerri Sommers & Ivanna Bilych (alternate)
 Old Edgemont Association: Chris Buckser-Schulz, Jennifer Frain & Betsy McCormack (alternate)
 Southern Greenville Association: Divya Mathur, Fatima Shama & Gillian Biron (alternate)

Community members who are interested in serving on the SBNC in future years are encouraged to contact their civic associations or the ECC.

David M. C. Stern
SBNC Chair, 2021-‘22

ECC Monthly Meeting: Monday, Mar 7th at 8PM

Zoom Link:

ECC Monthly Meeting: Monday, Feb 7th @ 8PM

Zoom Link: